FUSF → CCRF FAQ

Why is this change happening?

As a result of West’s acquisition, Flowroute is making changes to taxes and fees charged.

What are USF and CCRF and how are they different?

USF charges are collected by the FCC to fund telecommunication activities; The Carrier Cost Recovery Fee will be used temporarily to defray the costs of taxes and surcharges incurred by Flowroute in conjunction with the sale and purchase of telecommunications.

Will the cost be more than USF?

No, you will not see an increase.

How does this change affect me if I am a nonprofit organization?

Although your nonprofit status for income tax purposes has no bearing on USF, if you are not currently being charged the USF, then you will not be charged CCRF.

How does this change affect me if I am a reseller?

If you are not currently being charged the USF, you will not be charged CCRF. Note: All resellers are required to recertify their USF exemption annually.

Will individual accounts get affected or just Business accounts?

This will affect all accounts.

When does this change take an effect?

Changes to the website and CDRs will go out on Dec 31, 2018; CCRF charges will begin on Jan 1, 2019 12 AM UTC. Please note, if you begin a call on or after Jan 1, 2019 12:00 AM UTC (Dec 31, 2018 4:00 PM PT), we will charge CCRF. However, if a call begins prior to that time, say Dec 31, 11:00 PM UTC (Dec 31, 2018 3:00 PM PT) and ends it after the transition time, we will charge USF and no CCRF.

What changes are made in CDRs?

An additional column will be implemented to record CCRF charges. Please note there will be a column for USF and a separate column for CCRF.

What changes are made in Invoices (Billing -> Transactions)?

Taxes and fees will be separated. USF charges will be recorded under taxes, while CCRF charges will be recorded under fees.

What products are affected?

All products and services that are currently assessed USF will be assessed CCRF. This includes, but is not limited to, voice calls, TN purchases, and recurring monthly fees for TNs.

Did you find this article helpful?